everyday spectechols

gardening. cooking. everyday echols family spectacles.

potato and veggie “not clam” chowder

I’ve never been a fish person.  I grew up in land-locked Montana so decent salt water fish wasn’t readily available and the texture of trout just didn’t do it for me.  All in all, I just never developed a taste for anything that lived in water.

As I’ve gotten older, my palette’s expanded a bit – I’ve learned I LOVE calamari, need regular sushi dates, and crave good fish and chips with a pint ever since my London study abroad stint.

But one of the many fishy-dishes that still makes me cringe is New England clam chowder… and I’ve TRIED to like clam chowder.  Believe you me, I have tried!  I want so badly to be able to enjoy that that creamy, potatoey, goodness… but alas, I have given up hope.

Enter potato and veggie chowder, or as I like to call it – NOT clam chowder!  *trumpet sounds

Easy, adaptable, comforting, and best of all, NO CLAMS!

Not Clam Chowder
Adapted from a recipe in FamilyFun Magazine
Serves 6-8

Ingredients
2 tbsp butter
1 large onion, chopped
2 celery stalks, chopped
3 medium carrots, chopped
4 medium russet potatoes, peel and chopped
1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernels
6 cups chicken stock/ veggie yellow stock
dash of garlic powder and thyme
salt
1 cup cream
3 tbsp flour (optional – if you are making this recipe gluten-free, this soup is just as tasty flour-thickener-less!)
pepper

Instructions
1) Melt butter in medium sized stock pot or dutch oven over medium heat.  Add onion, celery, and carrots to pot and let cook ~8 minutes, stirring occasionally and leaving pot covered when not stirring.

2) Add potatoes, corn, and stock. Stir in garlic powder, thyme, and salt.  Bring to a low boil, reduce heat, and simmer covered until vegetables are tender.

3) In another bowl, whisk together cream and flour.  (You can make this recipe gluten free by negating the flour – the texture still works flour-less and tastes great!)

4) When vegetables are tender, stir cream mixture in to soup along with the pepper.

5) Bring soup to a low boil once more and again, reduce heat, cover, allow soup to simmer 8 more minutes, and enjoy!

Seasonal Variations
Fall and Winter – Leeks, mushrooms, and parsnips would be great additions/substitutions.

Spring – Chopped kale and/or spinach would give this soup some more body and it’s a great way to eat your greens!

Leave a Reply

archives

categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

