everyday spectechols

gardening. cooking. everyday echols family spectacles.

breakfast sandwich with spinach, egg, and ham

I started loving breakfast sandwiches in college.  Before that, I thought the only breakfast sandwiches out there were “Egg McKillingyouslowlys” which, for some odd reason, I wasn’t crazy about :P  I had no clue how awesome breakfast sandwiches could be until I figured out how to make my own.

These take all of five minutes and can go with you if you’re trying to rush out the door.  Drive-thrus just can’t compete :)

Breakfast Sandwich with Spinach, Egg, and Ham 

Ingredients
1 english muffin
1 egg
salt
pepper
1 slice of ham (optional)
1 small handful spinach
1 slice swiss cheese
butter for pan

Instructions
1) Melt butter in small skillet over medium heat.

2) Once pan is warm,  crack egg in to preheated pan.  Fry egg (I like to break the yolk and scramble the egg a bit while it’s cooking but feel free to cook the egg to your preference) and sprinkle with a dash of salt and pepper.

3) While egg is cooking, toast english muffin.

4) Once egg begins to firm up, flip so that uncooked side is facing down.  Top egg with spinach and slice of cheese.  Add ham (if using) to pan (beside the cooking egg) and brown slightly on both sides.  When ham is finished, place on top of spinach and cheese.  Leave “stack” in pan until egg is cooked to taste.

5) Place layered egg, spinach, cheese, and ham inside toasted english muffin and enjoy :)

3 comments on “breakfast sandwich with spinach, egg, and ham

  1. Marilyn
    February 28, 2012

    Hallie, great idea. I’ve done the same thing, only I use a small round dish & microwave the beat up egg so that it fits perfectly on the English muffin. While muffin is hot from the toaster, I place cheese on it to melt, then the hot egg to finish melting the cheese. I’m going to add the ham & spinach next time. xo

  2. Kathy Swigard
    February 28, 2012

    So the lentil spinach soup was a big hit here at home. I doubled the batch which made for a huge pot for just the two of us. But we both love soup on a snowy day and it be snowing finally here at Tahoe!

    • everydayspectechols
      February 29, 2012

      Kathy – So glad you guys liked it! It’s definitely a go-to for me, especially when I need a soup that will warm me up! I’m so jealous you have SNOW!!!!! I’m so sick of seeing my lawn, I can’t stand it :P

      Marilyn – I try to stick greens in to our diet anywhere I can! haha Including breakfast sandwiches ;)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2012 by in breakfast foods, grains, greens, sandwiches, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , .

archives

categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

