everyday spectechols

gardening. cooking. everyday echols family spectacles.

potato lentil soup with apples

I know, I know.  Apples in soup!?!  What the minty freshness am I thinking, right?!  But make this soup once and you will never doubt me again :)

This soup was inspired this past Fall by the EXTREME number of apples I had sitting in my refrigerator.  My uncle was awesome enough to let me pick apples to my heart’s content but I’m afraid my apple-picking fervor was not matched by my apple-using abilities :P  I made sauce and canned it, I cut, cored, and froze ziploc bags full, and I figured out how to put apples in everything from soup to relish to muffins to pies.  I know Fall is a few seasons away but thanks to the frozen apples I have packing my freezer, I can now make this soup year round.

This soup is delicious, nutritious, and another plus – you’d be hard pressed to find a better tasting soup for this low of a price!  Just look at the ingredients – apples (that were free in my case), lentils, and potatoes.  Frugal and tasty.  A “go” in anyone’s book :)

Potato Lentil Soup with Apples
Adapted from this recipe on allrecipes.com
Serves 6-8
Start-to-Finish ~ 1 hour

Ingredients
1/4 cup butter
1 onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp fresh ginger, minced
4 medium potatoes (baking or sweet), peeled and cubed
6 medium carrots, chopped
1 1/2 cups apples, chopped (fresh or frozen)
2 cups lentils (red or green)
8 cups veggie broth
salt
pepper
1 tsp each of cumin, chili powder, and paprika

Instructions
1) Melt butter in a medium stockpot over medium heat.  Add onion, garlic, and ginger to pot and saute ~ 5 minutes until onions begin to soften.

2) Add potatoes, carrots, and apples.  Stir and cook until onions are translucent, ~ 10 minutes.

3) Stir in the lentils.  Add broth and spices, stirring to combine.

4) Bring soup to a boil.  Cover and reduce heat to medium-low.  Let soup simmer, stirring occasionally, until vegetables and lentils are soft, ~30 minutes.

5) When vegetables and lentils are tender work in batches to blend soup in blender as desired.  I like to do it half-blended-half-not-blended so you get the thick, heartiness of a puree while still being able to recognize what you are eating :P  But you can also puree the entire batch OR not puree it at all.  Either way, you’ll be happy with the results :)

6) If you do puree, add blended soup back to stockpot once it’s been blended and make sure it’s thoroughly heated before serving.  You can also add a little water/ broth to thin the soup to your preferred consistency if you’d like.  Serve with whole wheat french bread :)

Leave a Reply

archives

categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

