everyday spectechols

gardening. cooking. everyday echols family spectacles.

new bed update – three cheers for non-permanent siding!

The new beds are finished and I’m so excited!  Especially because when we put them in last Fall, I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to do in terms of siding them.  There are differing views on whether or not raised beds need siding at all.  While siding does keep things all nice and neatly contained, it can sometimes make beds difficult to maintain by limiting access and making weeding, etc. uncomfortable.  Afterall how are you going to pull that weed you see sticking up mid-bean-sprouts or harvest the radishes you’ve planted with your carrots  if you can’t reach?  And how are you going to feel about kneeling on a wooden board whilst you putz around in your garden versus kneeling on nice soft earth?  Serious things to think about if you are wanting to enjoy your gardening experience :)

My concern with just letting my beds go “au naturale” was simply that the mounds were so darn tall!  At ~ a foot tall at the highest point, I was worried I wasn’t going to be able to make them flat enough/ watering would cause them to erode/ it just wouldn’t work :P  BUT I didn’t want to completely lock myself in to having permanently sided beds.  I wanted something a little more flexible…

My solution – NON-PERMANENT SIDING!  Essentially, I just repurposed some old fencing I had laying around (6×1 boards in 4 foot sections) by nailing 12 inch stakes to the boards (two per board)  and staking the boards in to the ground around the perimeter of the beds.  I then raked the soil in to an even layer supported by the staked boards.  And Voila!  Siding that is efficient, cheap, and gives me the flexibility I was looking for :)

Also a big THANK YOU to my superman of a husband for helping me out!  My edges would not have been straight nor as securely pounded in to the ground without him :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2012 by in montana gardening journal and tagged , , , .

archives

categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

